I said in the beginning, we are lazy witches for the most part. So today’s lesson is going to cover charging and dressing your candles for ritual or spell work. It is a small step that can have big results. We know that magick is about intent, focus and will. So with that in mind let’s find out how you can increase the success of your workings .

Once you have selected the candle you wish to use , it then needs to be charged and dressed. The purpose of dressing the candle is to establish a psychic link between it and you. By physically touching the candle during the dressing procedure, you are charging it with your own personal vibrations and also concentrating the desire of your magical act into the wax. The candle is becoming an extension of your mental power and life energy.

candlecircle

To dress a candle you use oils and herbs, specifically ones that empower and compliment the work at hand. Always be sure that the oil you are using is skin safe. When using things like banishing and cursing oils I recommend using gloves to protect yourself. Another thing I do when using oils of a certain nature is to dilute them with a little olive oil or other carrier. Now the purists will scream at that, but I don’t care. Either way just use caution.

At this point, I am including a link to one of the best and most comprehensive sites I have ever found for information on the magical uses of oils. I would not presume to try and copy her work. As far as I am concerned it’s the best I’ve seen. This link takes you to A-C… so follow the links on her blog for the rest of the alphabet.
http://vampyressgrimoire.wordpress.com/2012/12/18/vampyress-list-of-magick-oils-and-their-uses-a-c/

As to herbs, again choose them based on your working. I am including another link to a very good herbal resource. Ya know I have to make you work for some of it!
http://www.themagickalcat.com/Articles.asp?ID=242

Now to put it all together.

Using the Oils
When you dress a naked candle for magical use, imagine that it is a psychic magnet with a North and a South pole. For magick to bring things to you, Rub the oil into the candle beginning at the top or North end and work downwards to the half-way point. Always brush in the same direction downwards. This process is then repeated by beginning at the bottom or south end and working up to the middle. For magick to send things away from you, start at the center point and work upwards, then the center point and work downwards. Focusing all the while on your intent. For jar candles it’s a little different. I will explain that in a bit.

candle annointing oils candle annointing direction

Using the herbs
Once you have selected your herbs, you can crush and mix them in a mortar and pestle, or being the lazy witches we are, I have a coffee grinder just for this purpose. For candle work I prefer them fairly powdery, and the M&P doesn’t always work. I found mine at a thirft store for $1.99. But my old arthritic hands would have paid more. Sometimes I grind them into a fine powder, sometimes I just pulse them a time or two if I want them chunky.

candledressing dressing a candle

Now , you have dressed your candle with the oil, and have your herbs ready. Take a paper towel or cloth or plate even and sprinkle the herbs on it and then roll your candle in to coat it. It doesn’t have to be completely covered, just make sure its there. Again focusing your intent while doing this.

At this point your candle is pretty much ready to go. However there is another step you can choose to do. Prior to oiling and rolling in the herbs. You can choose to inscribe your candle with signs or symbols or names or whatever you feel like that helps focus on your working. Using a Pin, or Pen, Or your athame, or any other sharp pointed item. I have a porcupine quill for mine. Again focusing on your intent.
Now for jar candles, to start, sit with it in your hands and focus your intent for its use. Then you can use a marker or even a piece of paper that you can wrap around the glass to draw your signs or symbols or words on. Focus on your intent! Then drop some of the desired oil on the top of the wax, and sprinkle some of your herbal mixture in with it. And then what do you do? Focus your intent! Are ya seeing a pattern here?

Now your candle is ready ! So what do you do now.

One of the simplest forms of candle magic is to write the objective of your ritual on a virgin piece of paper. You can use color paper which matches the candle or parchment paper, heck even notebook paper if that’s all you have. You can write your petition on the paper using a magical alphabet, such as
theban, enochian, malachain,etc if you like, Or in your own language just be sure to empower your words as you write down what you want to accomplish — a new job, healing for a friend, a change of residence, a new love affair, etc.– visualize your desire coming true. Visualize the circumstances under which you might be offered a new job, imagine your employer telling you that your salary has been increased or conjure up a vision of your perfect love partner.

When you have completed writing down your petition, carefully fold up the paper in a deliberately slow fashion. Place the end of the folded paper in the candle flame and set light to it. As you do this concentrate once more on what you want from.

You can also place the parchment or paper under the candle if it is something you need to work on for a few days. Just be sure to sit and meditate on your workings for a few minutes each day prior to lighting your candle. As long as you are working the same spell you don’t need a new candle each night. Keep in mind that some candle magic has to be repeated over a period of days. Don’t choose a place where there is a tv, radio noise or other disturbances. Keep in mind to not put candles near curtains and such, as you would not want to burn your house down. Keep them away from pets and children.Candle magic should always be performed in a low traffic area. That is why a bedroom is really nice for such work. Never leave the room with a candle burning, always use proper safety measures.

My herbal knowledge is not something I can really put into words or teach. Back when I started my path I am sure I used what the correspondences and lists told me to. These days, I pretty much open my herb cabinets and let spirit lead me to what I need. Its haphazard at best. But it works for me.

In my experience, very frequently the names alone of the herbs give you a clue as to what they are for, at least for me…for example:
If I was gonna do some angelic type protection work.. I would grab Angelica without even thinking..

Witchbane- protection from stupid witches trying to cast on me
Grains of Paradise or Guinea Peppers- turn up the heat
Knotweed- why confusion and strife of course
Adam and Eve root- lover stuff
Adder’s Tongue- stop gossip
Buckeye, or even buckwheat—umm buck=money…

Not all the herbs are like that, but once you practice using them , once you make your own blends and work with them, it will come to you.. Remember , you are the power, you have the power, your intent is the magic, so you are the magic. I will admit that there are times I need to look up an herb, just to be sure… other times for workings that I tend to do frequently, I don’t even have to think about it. The trick is to use it, work with it, learn it, feel it, smell it. Be sure to read warnings because there are a lot of herbs that are poisonous.. some to the touch, some with ingestion and some when burning.. Herbs are wonderful things for healing and making into wonderful potions and notions but due care must be taken.

Also some oils are more apt to cause a reaction. Some are skin irritants from the start, some you become sensitized to over time. This is why it is important to learn what essential oils have dangers. And pay attention. I love oils, I used to do a lot of aromatherapy and have a lot of recipes and blends for that, but with 3 cats running around my house I don’t burn them often. While essential oils and blends for issues like fleas and such are usually alright for Dogs, Cats have a different respiratory system and a lot of oils can harm them. Their system does not metabolize essential oils the same way, and it can be deadly to them. Always keep your pets and kids away from them.

Some random notes here.. with herbs. This is what I do… I make up jars of base loose herbs.. the go to herbs for specific needs, like health and healing, prosperity ,Love, banishing, darker stuff.. but I pick 3 or so herbs for my base mix.. I don’t grind or crush yet, just mix and label.. so when I need to do a working I have a base to start with,,then I add whatever else I feel is needed and then grind. It works so I don’t start from scratch every time.. so do some research, figure out what kinds of workings are your most used, then make a base mix and be sure to label with the intent and the herbs in the mix. Put em in a jar and you are good to go.

Also, don’t be afraid to mix oils either.. If you are doing a prosperity spell or mojo bag.. I will combine money draw and lucky oil together.. and it doesn’t take a bunch of oil,, don’t waste it,,, a little goes a long way, remember its your intent and focus, the herbs and oils help to empower but they are the side show, not the main event!
This pretty much ends the candle magic class. The rest is up to you. But in closing I have put some links here for the books on candle magic,and oils that I like. These links are to Azure Green.. one of the big witchy retailers. But I have a wholesale account with them, and can get things at a discount. I don’t have the books on my site right now. Because you can get these all over. If by chance you decide you ever need anything Azure Green has, please think about ordering through me at a discount! All I need is the item code.. I will honor a 15% discount off their retail price if that helps anyone. But you have to tell me that you are in this group with me…

I have these books and do recommend them.
Another great place to get these is
www.half.com
Its an ebay company, but all books and media.. right now one of bucklands books they have from .75 cents up to 9.00… can’t beat that! Plus shipping is always reasonable… One of the best places for used books anywhere… any genre, any subject… Ok that’s all my secrets now!

Advanced Candle Magic- Buckland
http://www.azuregreen.net/prodinfo.asp?number=BADVCAN
Coventry Candles Book.. good info
http://www.azuregreen.net/prodinfo.asp?number=BCOVMAG
Practical Candle magic -buckland
http://www.azuregreen.net/prodinfo.asp?number=BPRACAN
And this is the Oils and Herbs and Brews from Cunningham
http://www.azuregreen.net/prodinfo.asp?number=BCOMINC

I have truly enjoyed sharing this with you all. I hope there are questions, I hope I have answers. But mostly I hope I have inspired you to take a closer look at a sometimes forgotten form of magic. I can’t say this enough… INTENT-INTENT-INTENT and INTUITION-INTUITION-INTUITION-.. Believe in yourself, believe in your magic and your power.. But that’s not enough, you must not just believe your spell will work, YOU MUST KNOW IT!..Every part of you must know for certain that your working is alive and powerful. Any doubt, any at all will weaken your spell. Forget what the books say, don’t stress over memorizing things, either make it up as you go , or read it. Ive been to circles that everyone had a script in hand… it was kind of funny seeing everyone with a lighter out to try and read. Also expect the unexpected… you will drop a candle, you will forget what you are saying, you will giggle and maybe even cry … just last week, we could not get one of the quarter candles to light… nothing worked. So one of us just stood there with bic and became that “living candle” for that direction… be sure to laugh at your self and not get freaked out.. The Gods love a little comic relief sometimes! Use what you find as guides and guidelines. Not hard, fast rules…this is magic folks, not rocket science! Let spirit guide you, and then one day, it will just all fall into place! You will awaken and it will be a time of knowing!
I have so many more things to tell you, but its not a part of this class..and I tend to ramble. I hope you have found value in these!
Most of you that know me know I rarely say this, but when I do I mean it.. so

candlemagick